HEART KINDLING

Little things that feed the flame

A Glimpse

2 Comments

My girl has grown into another pair of trousers. (I don’t even remember when and where I bought them. They must have been a good price and I kept them for later, when she grows into them. And that she did.) They are warm and pink, and have two front pockets on the hips. She put them on for the first time today and went about her daily business of play as usual.

***

She comes to me in a funny walk. No shoes, dragging her feet along the floor.

Yeteta* has a cup, she declares and goes on to pull a tiny tin cup from her picnic set out of each pocket. I can’t help but smile at her sense of prided possession. She dips the toy cup into my mug of lukewarm green tea and hands it to me,ย You try.

Goooood?, she asks, looking at me with those big eyes of hers widely open.

Very good, I affirm. (It is my favourite full-leaf Japanese Bancha tea, after all ๐Ÿ˜€ )

***

I want to wrap this moment nicely and put away into my memory. As a snippet of our daily life, the delicate beauty of parenthood, of my daughters emerging self. She has offered me all sorts of imaginary foods and drinks before, and she will again, I am sure. There is nothing especially extraordinary about this moment. Other than its simplicity and unpretentious beauty that caught me off guard and made me smile.

I just finished reading Kim John Payne’s book Simplicity Parenting. Among other things, he suggests at the end of the day to skim throughthe day in your memory and pick one or two pleasant, enriching or delightful moments with your child. This is an exercise meant to take stress out of parenthood, to make it enjoyable. I am thinking of putting a little twist on this exercise. I decided to dedicate a special little notebook and write those moments down. Not so much to de-stress, but to capture the fleeting childhood, to preserve these moments for the future. Both for myself to remember and for her to see herself through my eyes at this age that she will not remember herself. I think I might start today.

* This is the name she calls herself. And now we call her that sometimes as well.

2 thoughts on “A Glimpse

  1. that’s a great idea. Will you write in a special notebook, or make yourself a notebook ?

  2. I’ve just chosen one of the notebooks I already have. With Christmas looming just around the corner, there will be plenty of making as it is. Besides, I am a bit crazy about pretty stationery, so I have a little collection of notebooks to chose from ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

